frenchThe French Perfumer
Amanda Hampson

Shorthand typist required by English speaker in the South of France. Live-in, full board plus salary commensurate with experience.’ Iris Turner, an unworldly young Englishwoman, arrives in the French Riviera to take up a secretarial role for the mysterious Hammond Brooke. Living in a small, exclusive hotel among eccentric and unpredictable aristocrats and struggling to gain her employer’s trust, she soon realises that nothing is as it seems.

 

break_line2

yid2The Yid
Paul Goldberg

Moscow, February 1953. A week before Stalin’s death, his final pogrom, “one that would forever rid the Motherland of the vermin,” is in full swing. Three government goons arrive in the middle of the night to arrest Solomon Shimonovich Levinson, an actor from the defunct State Jewish Theater. But Levinson, though an old man, is a veteran of past wars, and his shocking response to the intruders sets in motion a series of events both zany and deadly as he proceeds to assemble a ragtag group to help him enact a mad-brilliant plot: the assassination of a tyrant.

 

break_line2

 

rusty pupRusty Puppy
Joe R Lansdale

Hap, a former 60’s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, is recovering from a life-threatening stab wound. He’s hoping to take it easy, but then Louise Elton arrives with a job….Filled with Lansdale’s trademark snappy dialogue, colourful characters, and relentless pacing, RUSTY PUPPY is Joe Lansdale at his page-turning best.

 

 

break_line2

indexRoanoke Girls
Amy Engel

The taboo-breaking thriller of the year, perfect for fans of Emma Cline’s THE GIRLS.Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.But you won’t when you know the truth. Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her maternal grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, at the Roanoke family’s rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.But what she doesn’t know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die.

 

break_line2

bardoLincoln in the Bardo
George Saunders

The extraordinary first novel by the bestselling, Folio Prize-winning, National Book Award-shortlisted George Saunders, about Abraham Lincoln and the death of his eleven year old son, Willie, at the dawn of the Civil War February 1862. Written with George Saunders’ inimitable humour, pathos and grace, Lincoln in the Bardo invents a thrilling new form and confirms him as one of the most important writers of his generation. Deploying a theatrical, kaleidoscopic panoply of voices living and dead, historical and fictional Lincoln in the Bardo poses a timeless question- how do we live and love when we know that everything we hold dear must end?

break_line2

 

 

 

site by MAXCO